deutsch | english
  • FAQ
  • EASTER TOUR 2013

GMJO Summer Tour 2015

Herbert Blomstedt resumes his successful collaboration with the GUSTAV MAHLER JUGENDORCHESTER on the Summer Tour 2015, conducting the orchestra for the fourth time already since 2008. He has most recently conducted the GMJO in 2013 and continues his series of Bruckner symphonies with one of the cycle’s most complex works, Symphony No. 8 in C minor. The second programme of the tour combines Mozart’s late Symphony No. 39 in E-flat major K. 543 with Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 in E minor op. 95.

After the opening concert at the Bolzano Festival Bozen, where the GMJO is in residence, the orchestra will guest appear at the Ravello Festival for the first time. Performances at the Lucerne Festival and the Frauenkirche in Dresden, where the GUSTAV MAHLER JUGENDORCHESTER has established a close partnership with the Sächsische Staatskapelle in 2012, are followed by concerts at the Salzburg Festival, the Concertgebouw Amsterdam and the Rheingau Festival. A second concert in Bolzano and the GUSTAV MAHLER JUGENDORCHESTER’S debut in Pordenone conclude the Summer Tour 2015.


Photo: Matthias Creutziger

Rihm in Salzburg - HD Video Documentary

In 2014, the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester commissioned a new Piano Concerto by Wolfgang Rihm, together with the Salzburg Festival and the National Symphony Orchestra – Washington DC. The world premiere took place at the Salzburg Festival on 25 August 2014, with Tzimon Barto, piano and Christoph Eschenbach, conductor – to whom the new piece was also dedicated.

 With generous support from the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, and in close collaboration with the Salzburg Festival and Universal Edition, this ambitious project was filmed by Myriam Hoyer, from the first rehearsals in Bolzano / Bozen to the world premiere concert in Salzburg; Wolfgang Rihm and Christoph Eschenbach talk about this fascinating new piece, and you can join the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester in discovering, rehearsing and performing Wolfgang Rihm´s Piano Concerto No. 2.

Uploads start on Friday 15 May 2015; every Friday, one video clip will be uploaded:

These High Definition video clips are free, and you are invited to forward, share and comment. Visit our friends and partners, too.


This project was made possible with the kind support of:

With special thanks to: